Amplitude / blog / Sports & Recreation / 2016 U.S. Paralympics Cycling National Team Announced

2016 U.S. Paralympics Cycling National Team Announced

The U.S. Paralympics has named 27 athletes, including one tandem pilot, to its 2016 cycling national team. The roster includes ten past U.S. Paralympians, spanning from 2004 to 2012, and five reigning world champions.

The world champions are Joe Berenyi, Shawn Morelli, Greta Neimanas, Jill Walsh, and Jamie Whitmore. Berenyi and Neimanas are also prior U.S. Paralympians, along with team members Alicia Dana, Megan Fisher, Will Groulx, Allison Jones, Steven Peace, Oz Sanchez, Jennifer Schuble, and Matt Updike.

Other team members are Matt Bigos, Ryan Boyle, Jonathan Copsey, Tom Davis, Samantha Heinrich, Aaron Keith, Todd Key, Will Lachenauer, Scott Martin, Christopher Murphy, Freddie de los Santos, Aaron Scheides (stoker), Benjamin Collins (pilot), and Brian Sheridan.

To open the season, Team USA will travel to Los Angeles for the U.S. Paralympics Track Cycling Open, February 5-7. This Union Cycliste Internationale (UCI) event will serve as a selection event for the UCI Para-cycling Track World Championships, in Montichiarri, Italy, March 12-21, and the 2016 Summer Games in Brazil.