Amplitude / blog / Sports & Recreation / Steve Cash Named U.S. Flag Bearer for 2014 Paralympic Winter Games Closing Ceremony

Steve Cash Named U.S. Flag Bearer for 2014 Paralympic Winter Games Closing Ceremony

Posted March 17, 2014

The United States Olympic Committee (USOC) announced that three-time Paralympian and sled hockey goalie Steve Cash of Overland, Missouri, has been selected as the flag bearer for the U.S. Paralympic Team at the Closing Ceremony for the 2014 Paralympic Winter Games in Sochi, Russia, on March 16. Cash was chosen by a vote of fellow Team USA athletes.

“Obviously first and foremost, it is a tremendous honor, but at the same time it’s not as much about having an individual opportunity to bear the flag, but also being able to represent my country and all of the athletes who came out and are here representing their country as well,” Cash said in a USOC press release. “I am able to represent 80 athletes, especially my teammates who have been there for me through thick and thin ever since I started in the sport….”

Cash, whose right leg was amputated due to bone cancer at age three, started his sled hockey career with the Disabled Athlete Sports Association’s St. Louis Blues in 2004 and made his first U.S. Sled Hockey National Team in 2005.

So far at the 2014 Games, Cash has backstopped the United States to preliminary round wins over Italy (5-1) and South Korea (3-0), plus a semifinal victory against Canada (3-0). The only two goals he permitted came in a 2-1 loss to Russia in the preliminary round. Overall, Cash has stopped 37of 39 shots for a .949 save percentage and a .51 goals against average.

In addition to being named Best Goaltender at the 2010 Winter Games in Vancouver, Canada, Cash owns a Paralympic record shutout streak that spanned 313 minutes and 17 seconds. The seven-plus games streak began in 2006, continued through the entire 2010 Winter Games, and ended three-games into the 2014 Games.

Cash will lead the 80-member U.S. team into the Closing Ceremony on March 16 at Fisht Olympic Stadium. The ceremony will be broadcast on NBCSN from 3:30-5:30 p.m. ET.